Friday, March 8, 2013

Rule 13-1, Phil's Barclays Commercial



            I did a short write up on this Barclays commercial when it first came out, but want to add it to FarbTalk because it is a fun exercise to go through the commercial and determine all the actual penalties involved.

            Phil quotes, “Rule 13-1, the ball must be played as it lies.”  This is absolutely true.  However, none of the penalties this player incurs are under Rule 13-1.  I would actually love to see if anyone can find a way to incur the general penalty under 13-1 specifically.  As the commercial proceeds there are several breaches, so let’s see where this player – and Phil – went wrong.

            First, the player uses his foot wedge.  He has moved his ball at rest.  He incurs a one-stroke penalty under 18-2a and is required to replace the ball.
            Under Rule 20-3a, a ball to be replaced under the Rules must be replaced by  the person who lifted or moved the ball,  the player or his partner.  Phil kicks the ball back to its original position (on the exact spot for the sake of argument).  Although this method of replacing the ball is not recommended (see 16-1d/3 for a similar discouraged method of replacement) the ball did get back to its original spot and the player is not subject to the general penalty under 18-2a, only the initial stroke penalty for moving his ball at rest.
Unfortunately, Phil was not permitted to be the person who replaced the ball.  The player incurs one more penalty stroke under Rule 20-3 for the ball being replaced by a person not permitted to do so.
            So far, he has incurred two penalty strokes, one under Rule 18-2a and one under 20-3a. When the player does eventually play the ball, he double hits it. (Actually, he may have triple hit it).  He incurs an additional penalty stroke under Rule 14-4 and the stroke counts. (Note that regardless of how many extra hits the player made, he incurs one penalty stroke in addition to the actual stroke.  Whether the ball is double, triple or quadruple hit is irrelevant).
            All in all, the player has incurred three penalty strokes for this sequence of events, none of which are under Rule 13-1.  Phil is absolutely right in pointing out that the ball must be played as it lies, however, the breaches do not fall under that Rule.

No comments:

Post a Comment