Thursday, April 18, 2013

Decision of the Day - 34-1b/6

Without throwing anyone under the bus, this Decision is important to remember for any Committee that happens to make a mistake affecting the result of the competition.  The kind of Committee error made in this instance, must be corrected and may involve some very difficult phone calls.

Decision 34-1b/6 - Winner's Score Not Posted Due to Committee Error

Q. In a stroke-play event, the winner's prize was awarded to B.  The next day A advises the Committee that he had reutrned a lower score than B.  A check reveals that A is correct and that, in error, the Committee had failed to post A's score.  What should be done?

A.  Rule 34-1b does not apply to Committee errors of this kind.  The prize should be retrieved from B and given to A, the rightful winner.


For the faithful readers, whether you've followed me from the beginning or just recently discovered my blog you should know I am constantly updating the site.  I am always looking for videos or footage of Rules incidents, even if I've already written and posted the article.  Please go back and check out one update to Rulings from Masters Past thanks to a dutiful reader.  There may also be videos added to other articles you've viewed, so feel free to flip back through the Archive on the left hand side.

I've also recently added a new Page titled Exceptions and Notes.  This page highlights the Exceptions and Notes found throughout the Rules of Golf and puts them into categories.  If you're studying for a Rules exam or just trying to get a better grasp of the Rules of Golf, this is a great place to find good information.

No comments:

Post a Comment