Saturday, April 6, 2013

Michelle Wie...Again

First, if anyone has video or a photo of Michelle Wie playing this shot or in the process of identifying the ball it would be much appreciated.

Even without seeing the incident there is only one possibility given the description and interview as only one Rule requires the player to proceed in this manner - Rule 12-1a.

On the first hole of her second round at the Kraft Nabisco Championship, Michelle Wie's ball buried itself in the wall of a bunker.  As she approached it she could not see the ball and finally her caddie Duncan pointed it out.  She needed to identify the ball, did so, and was then required to recreate the lie and recover the ball.

When searching for or identifying a ball covered by sand anywhere on the course, the player is permitted to do what is necessary to find and identify the ball.  If the ball is accidentally moved during the search, there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced.  If the lie is altered (as it was when she removed the ball from the plugged lie), the lie must be recreated and the ball recovered.

Michelle described the process in her post-round interview:

So I had to take it out, identify it and then recreate the same exact lie, and I was looking at the rules official like, "Why am I doing this again? Why am I covering this up?"  He was like, "Cover it up more," and I was like, "Okay."

No comments:

Post a Comment