Friday, July 17, 2015

Spieth's Line of Putt Relief



                On the 5th hole, Jordan Spieth’s ball came to rest on the putting green in such a position that a sprinkler head lying off the green (through the green) intervened on his line putt.  Under Rule 24-2 alone, he would not be entitled to relief unless the intervening obstruction was also on the putting green.  However, during the Open Championship the Local Rule in Appendix I for relief for immovable obstructions close to the putting green is in effect.
                This Local Rule provides relief for intervention on a player’s line of play when an immovable obstruction that is within two club-lengths of the putting green AND within two-club lengths of the ball.  When the ball lies through the green, the ball is dropped at the nearest point no nearer the hole where there is no longer intervention.
                However, since Spieth’s ball was on the putting green, the Local Rule also provides relief when an immovable obstruction within two club-lengths of the putting green intervenes on the player’s line of putt.  This was the case for Spieth, and since his ball was on the putting green relief was to place the ball at the nearest point no nearer the hole where there is no longer line of putt intervention.
                See Appendix I-B-6 for more on this Local Rule.

No comments:

Post a Comment